Browser not supported

You are using an old browser that we do not support anymore. Please consider using a modern web browser such as Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome or Firefox for the best website experience.

Hans-Julius Ahlmann is awarded the World Economy Prize


Hans-Julius Ahlmann is awarded the World Economy Prize

Büdelsdorf, 17.06.2022

The Kiel Institute for the World Economy will award the Managing Partner of the ACO Group, Hans Julius Ahlmann, with the World Economy Prize on Sunday, June 19, 2022. This prize is awarded every year to personalities from politics, business and science who have made a special contribution to a socially responsible society based on personal responsibility.
"I am very pleased to receive this award. It is my first ever business award, and even more so from the top academic institution in my home state," said Hans-Julius Ahlmann. "For me as a native of Schleswig-Holstein, this is a great honor." The theme of this year's award is "Location policy between state and market."

The World Economic Award is intended to provide an impetus for tackling major global challenges across borders. The ACO Group has successfully taken advantage of the opportunities offered by globalization and the opening up of many countries around the world over the past 40 years. Today, the company is represented in 47 countries with its own sales force and in all continents with its own production. "In the 200 years since our predecessor company was founded, ACO has had to reinvent itself again and again," says Hans-Julius Ahlmann.

Today, ACO is on its way to becoming a green tech company that develops environmental technology products and smart system solutions. "Today our claim is: ACO. we care for water. As a large ACO family, we will continue to work with all our might to bring Schleswig-Holstein's efficiency and livability out into the world."
The Institute for the World Economy, together with its partners, the state capital Kiel and the Schleswig-Holstein Chamber of Industry and Commerce, is presenting the award this year for the 17th time. In addition to Hans-Julius Ahlmann, two other award winners will be honored: Dr. Dalia Grybauskaitė, former President of the Republic of Lithuania and former EU Commissioner for Financial Planning and Budget in the Politics category, and Prof. Ufuk Akcigit from the University of Chicago in the Science category.
The Institute for the World Economy will broadcast the award ceremony in a public livestream here on Sunday, June 19, 2022, starting at 11 am.

If you have any questions, please contact our press department:
Vivien Arwers
Phone: +49 (0)4331 354 495

Press photo from Hans-Julius Ahlmann, ACO